The West Island of Montreal

The suburban region known locally as the "West Island" covers the entire western third of the Island of Montreal. In 2006, eight of the West Island’s thirteen municipalities officially demerged from the “Mega-City” of Montreal. The three Boroughs of Lachine, L'Île-Bizard-Ste-Geneviève and Pierrefonds-Roxboro, remain part of the Mega-City. The remaining eight autonomous municipalities include Ste.-Anne-de-Bellevue, Senneville, Baie D’Urfé, Beaconsfield, Pointe Claire, Kirkland, Dollard-des-Ormeaux and Dorval.

The name "West Island" is sometimes used to include western "off-island" municipalities such as Hudson, St-Lazare, Ile Perrot, Pincourt and Vaudreuil-Dorion. Although it has traditionally drawn English speaking settlers, the West Island has a definite French flavour and has become quite a bilingual and multicultural region.

Below is a list of all the West Island municipalities and boroughs with links to each of their respective websites.